Madonna University Celebrates 10th Annual Symposium for Research, Scholarship, and Creativity

three students standing with their poster at the symposium

LIVONIA, MICH. – The Madonna University Center for Research held its 10th Annual Symposium for Research, Scholarship and Creativity on Wednesday, April 17th. The event showcased the academic and artistic achievements of Madonna students and faculty. 

The symposium featured 66 student posters on display, covering a wide range of disciplines. This provided students with a valuable opportunity to hone their presentation skills, share their research findings, and showcase their creative endeavors, including a vocal performance by Jack Nicodemo, a music major, performing "The Vagabond" from Songs of Trravel by Ralph Vaughn Williams. 

The symposium also included a series of thought-provoking presentations by Madonna faculty members, known as "Madonna Talks." These talks addressed a variety of issues, including: 

  • The complex relationship between communities and feral cats (Drs. Boguslawa Gatarek and Andrew Domzalski)
  • The ongoing struggle for environmental justice in Michigan (Dr. Elaine Hockman)
  • The link between ultra-processed foods and the obesity epidemic (Dr. Karen Schmitz)
  • The factors that contribute to educational inequities (Dr. Lester Sharon)

In a statement reflecting the event's success, Dr. Elizabeth Prough, Interim Dean of the Graduate School and Director of the Center for Research, highlighted the exceptional quality of students presentations. She also commended the dedication of faculty participants and Donna Bryden, Senior Coordinator in the Graduate School, whose efforts were instrumental in making the symposium a success. 

The Research Poster Award winners were:


First Place: Rachel Austin, Emily Biggott, and Amanda Woods

Second Place: Analise Craig, Sierra Greener, Sarah Marion, Damon Montroy, and Alicia Stanley

Third Place: Abeer Nasser, Manal Nasser, and Raneam Rabat


First Place: Shane Rankin

Second Place: Joshua Phillips

Third Place: Abigail Powell