X

Empowering students to plan for their academic future and beyond!

The mission of academic advising is to facilitate a process of educational inquiry that by intention and design promotes the intellectual, personal, and social development of students.  Academic Advising is overseen by the Office of Undergraduate Retention.

By providing proactive advising and programming, we encourage and empower students to formulate realistic academic plans, explore professional and career options, and engage in meaningful decision-making, all in an environment that is welcoming, inclusive, and supportive.

What is advising and what do we do?

Each student is assigned support staff and faculty based on his or her chosen path of study. Every student is first assigned a Retention Specialist- who you have as your Retention Specialist is based on the college that houses your chosen path of study. Students may also be assigned a faculty advisor- this can happen as soon as you are admitted or later in your college career, again, depending on your chosen path of study. Academic Advisors and Retention Specialists assist new and current students by:

  • Formulating a plan that outlines their academic path and monitoring academic progress
  • Interpreting institutional policies and procedures
  • Recommending opportunities for personal growth and academic development
  • Providing referrals to institutional and community resources and support when academic and non-academic challenges arise
  • Discussing alternatives when there are doubts concerning choice of major or career, or when admission is not granted to the chosen major

Office of Undergraduate Retention Staff

Nicole Nagy headshot

Nicole NagyExecutive Director

nhnagy@madonna.edu

734-432-5624

Office - 1411

Nicole Nagy

X icon
Please add useful description

Liz MooreCoordinator

lmoore@madonna.edu

734-432-5417

Office - 1411

Liz Moore

X icon
nbaker

Nora Baker

Retention Specialist,
Education

nbaker@madonna.edu

734-432-5647

Office - 2228H

Nora Baker

X icon
Please add useful description

Sara Foos

Retention Specialist,
Social Sciences 

sfoos@madonna.edu

734-432-5491

Office - 1400I

Sara Foos

X icon
 /_resources/images/fac/SHogg.jpg

Shannon Gass

Retention Specialist,
Business

smgass@madonna.edu

734-432-5347  

Office - M119

Shannon Gass

X icon
/_resources/images/fac/CLesko-Brown.jpg

Christen Lesko-Brown

Retention Specialist,
Nursing & Health

cleskobrown@madonna.edu

734-432-5564

Office - 1400D

Christen Lesko-Brown

X icon
 /_resources/images/fac/LSmith.jpg

Linda Smith

Retention Specialist,
Nursing & Health 

lsmith@madonna.edu

734-432-5718

Office - 1400J

Linda Smith

X icon
 /_resources/images/fac/CStrychalski.jpg

Chris Strychalski

Retention Specialist,
Natural Sciences,  Arts & Humanities

cstrychalski@madonna.edu

734-432-5418 

Office - S217W

Chris Strychalski

X icon
 /_resources/images/fac/PWeisgerber.jpg

Patrick Weisgerber

Retention Specialist,
Nursing & Health 

pweisgerber@madonna.edu

734-432-5672

Office - 1400K

Patrick Weisgerber

X icon
 

WHO ARE MY SUPPORT STAFF?

HOW DO I PREPARE TO REGISTER FOR CLASSES?