X

Earn a degree in Biology

  • Service Learning/study abroad opportunities in Costa Rica and the Galapagos Islands.
  • Gain experience in hospital research through the Emergency Medicine Research Associate Program (EMRAP).
  •  Complete your senior capstone research project working with a faculty advisor.
  • Lab courses have only 16-24 students for more one-on-one instruction.

MORE INFORMATION

RELATED PROGRAMS

Environmental Science

Gain a broad scientific background in biology, chemistry, and physics with a focus on water quality and safety.

Learn More

Natural Science

Gain a well-rounded science background allowing you to readily explain phenomenological events.

Learn More

Biochemistry

Prepare for your future career as a biochemist, or for advanced studies in a variety of science-related professions.

Learn More

General Science

Gain knowledge in an array of science classes to prepare for your career in Elementary or Middle school classroom instruction.

Learn More

Faculty Bios

Elizabeth Peckham, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology Program Director, Biology

Ph.D. University of Michigan

B.S. Ashland University

epeckham@madonna.edu

734-432-5516

Franciscan Center S217-V

Elizabeth Peckham, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Peckham is an Associate Professor of Biology and Program Director for Biology.  She is an Ohio native who moved to Michigan for graduate school and fell in love with the Great Lakes State. She joined the faculty of Madonna University in 2020.  She teaches General Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Cell Biology, Genetics and Special Topics.  She is also the advisor for the Biology and Health Sciences Club.

X icon

Veronica Riha, Ph.D.Professor of Biology

Ph.D. Wayne State University

M.S. Oakland University

B.S. Oakland University

vriha@madonna.edu

734-432-5510

Franciscan Center S217-L

Veronica Riha, Ph.D.

Veronica Riha is a professor of Biology. She joined the Faculty of Madonna University in 2002. She teaches General Biology, Microbiology, Ecology and Special Topics. She is also involved in Study Abroad programs in Biology and loves to provide experiential learning to students. She has traveled with students to the Gulf Coast of Mississippi, Costa Rica, Galapagos Islands and Machu Picchu. Veronica is also a proponent of service-learning not only in her classes on campus but also as part of Study Abroad programs.

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Krystal BakkilaAdjunct Professor

M.S. Wayne State University

B.A. Wayne State University

kbakkila@madonna.edu

Krystal Bakkila

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Najla BitarAdjunct Professor

M.D. Faculté de Médecine de Sousse/ Tunisia

nbitar@madonna.edu

Najla Bitar

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Andrei Borisov, Ph.D.Adjunct Professor

Ph.D. Institute of Cell Biology

B.S., M.S. University of St. Petersburg 

aborisov@madonna.edu

Andrei Borisov, Ph.D.

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Nick ButkevichAdjunct Professor

M.S. Eastern Michigan University

B.S. Eastern Michigan University

nbutkevich@madonna.edu

Nick Butkevich

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Erin Cabello, Ph.D.Adjunct Professor

Ph.D. Rice University

B.A. Thomas More College of Liberal Arts

ecabello@madonna.edu

Erin Cabello, Ph.D.

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Jeff DwyerAdjunct Professor

M.S. Wayne State University

B.S. Western Michigan University

jjdwyer@madonna.edu

Jeff Dwyer

X icon
Marchildon.Headshot

Janice MarchildonAdjunct Professor

M.S.N. Texas Tech University School of Nursing

B.S.N. Lubbock Christian University

jmarchildon@madonna.edu

Janice Marchildon

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Michelle Moccia

 

Adjunct Professor

M.S.N. Eastern Michigan University

D.N.P. Madonna University

B.S.N. Madonna University

jmmoccia@madonna.edu

Michelle Moccia

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Kathryn MooreAdjunct Professor

B.S. Oregon State University

M.P.H. Emory University

kmmoore@madonna.edu

Kathryn Moore

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Kathleen Quigley, Ph.D.Adjunct Professor

Ph.D. Michigan State University

M.S. University of Michigan

B.S. Wayne State University

kquigley@madonna.edu

Kathleen Quigley, Ph.D.

X icon
Faculty placeholder image

Tammy Wrone, Ph.D.Adjunct Professor

Ph.D. Wayne State University

B.S. Wayne State University

twrone@madonna.edu

Tammy Wrone, Ph.D.

X icon

Science Laboratory Safety

Student Manual