Peer Mentors 2017

Crusaders Committed to Excellence in the First Year Awards

At its inaugural Crusaders Committed to Excellence Awards Ceremony in February 2017, Madonna University’s First-Year Experience (FYE) program recognized more than 120 first-year students for their academic achievements and strong impact at the University. With nominations from students, this event also celebrated an outstanding faculty and staff member who have dedicated his/her time and effort to the students and beyond.  

“Transitioning to college can be a difficult time for many reasons. So many things compete for the students’ time. Achieving academic success in the first year of college is an amazing accomplishment, so we wanted to formally recognize students’ efforts,” said Nicole Nagy, director, First-Year Experience program, of this newly-developed awards ceremony. 

Faculty, staff and FYE peer mentors were asked to nominate prospective award winners. Nomination criteria included students who have excelled inside and outside the classroom academically, in student organizations, athletics, or faith-based activities; students who have made a significant impact in their short time on campus; or students who have potential to make a future impact at Madonna.

At the ceremony celebrated with students, their families, faculty and staff, First-Year Student Academic Excellence Awards were given to nearly 40 of the first-year students who received a grade point average of 3.0-3.49, 3.5-3.99 and 4.0; First-Year Students of Distinction awards were given to five first-year students who have made a significant impact at the university; an FYE Wall of Fame Award was given to one faculty member; an FYE Wall of Fame Award went to one staff member, both who have gone above and beyond for the students; and FYE Peer Mentor awards were given to 35 mentors for more than 2,800 total hours of service.

 “We are so proud of everyone for their tireless efforts and proud to honor so many at this event,” said Nagy.

For more photos of the event, visit FYE’s Facebook page

 First-Year Student Academic Excellence Recognition for Fall 2016




Lauren Baker

Amanda Guido

Austin Martin

Audrey Pohl

Emma Sikina

Alec Bollinger

Abigail Harris

Katherine Mikel

Sarah Puckett

Miriam Sponsler

Jerilyn Chapp

Sarah Jacobson

Cristina Moraccini

Brianna Roach

Henry Stafford

Rachel Eaton

Sarah Kaljian

Ashley Nehez

Alison Shapic  

Jean Steelman 





Natalie Aguirre

Lauren Chaney

Mackenzie Gurne

LeAnn Morse

Brian Sams

Jenna Baranski

Ashton Coles

Madisen Henry

Brianna Mozariwskyj

Rachel Shanaman

Kyle Baron

Christine Cousineau

Jacob Higgins

Cheyanne Nemley

Hyun Bin Shin

Joshua Bentley

Jonathon Curis

Joshua Johnson

Alex Nicolson

Earl Short

Amanda Berry

Miranda Davey*

Madison Kean

Thomas Pabian

Crystal Sigler

April Borrusch

Gabriela Dedvukaj

Zena Khouryzat

Alexandria Parker

Emily Thompson

Sidney Brown

Abigail Deogracias

Jillian Law

Jacob Pederson

Kyle Tinnion

Katherine Buchanan

Maura Doyle

Samuel Lee

Hannah Peterson

Elizabeth Tworek

Melanie Bushway

Allison Dumler

Jacob Lipetzky

Glen Polski

Nicolette Vultaggio

Frank Carlin

Colleen Fader    

Joseph Mercier

Vincent Popyk

Murphy Wong

Hannah Carson

Mia Frank 

Cendi Mina

Jacqueline Pruitt


Rachel Ceci

Megan Greb

Jamie Moceri

Haleigh Roddy






Manuel Aulbrook

Fatema Fakih

Shailee Kurowski

Madison Penrod

Gary Turnbull 

Andrew Bambach

Anthony Floyd 

Mackenzie Lago

Lillie Phelps 

Cierra Von Zittwitz

Danny Blade

Kezia Georgy

Regenal Mason 

Shacai Pittman

Briana Warner 

Collin Branigan

Donovan Gomez

DeAngelo Meredith

Jordyn Przeklasa


Pearse Branigan

Brett Hebel 

Scott Merrill

Jordan Salhani 


Jamie Douglas

Alex Hejka

Toriek Miller

Remington Sancho


Caleb Drumm

Bryce Hollis

Natalie Moran

Kadison Sayer


Bethany Dziekan

Antar Howard

Bryce Myles 

Jessica Smith 


Sydnee Ellingson

Alaa Jaber

David Nordstrom

Annie Sullivan

 First-Year Students of Distinction Award

We ask faculty, staff and FYE Peer Mentors to nominate first-year students who they saw either currently making a significant impact on campus or who they see as someone who will make a significant impact at MU during the rest of their time at the university. Only five students are selected each year.

2016 winners:
Manuel Aulbrook
Madison Kean
Thomas Pabian
Jacqueline Pruitt
Earl Short

 FYE Wall of Fame

In order to recognize the contributions of these faculty and staff to our first-year students, we asked first-year students to nominate a faculty or staff member who made a significant impact on them during their time at the university. Each winner’s name was put on a plaque in the hallway outside Room 1111.

Faculty winner for 2016: Dr. Ted Gish (Chemistry)

Staff winner for 2016: Reco Spencer (Academic Guidance Specialist in the Center for Personalized Instruction)