School of Business Hosts 31st Annual Honors Convocation

May 18, 2016

LIVONIA, Mich. – The dean and faculty of Madonna University’s School of Business recently honored its 2016 graduates at the 31st annual honors convocation. Students received awards for academic achievement in both undergraduate and graduate programs. Graduate students recognized with the high achievement award, have achieved a 3.75 GPA or better and have completed at least two-thirds of the required credits for their major. Recipients of the 2016 high achievement awards for graduate students are Kimberly Allen, Lynnette Cain, Denise Collaku, Whitney Janaulis, Kevin Koch, Emily Kostin, Monica Polocoser and Ryan Webster.

The following undergraduate students were recognized with high honors for having completed 30 credits at Madonna University, 15 in their major, and for earning a 3.5 GPA or higher: Amanda Arcy, Thomas Ashmore, Brooke Austin, Natalie Blazo, Darsel Bonello, Joya Chowdhury, Bryan Day, Justice Dean, Alexander DeYonker, Amy Dickerson, Anthony Dunn, Nicholas Follbaum, Casey Gates, Breanna Geile, Jessica Giarmarco, Tina Gladki, Taylor Grzelakowski, Karl Haberl, Christina Harris, Deann Hutchins, Hyein Ji, Austin Johnson, Evan Kain, Michael Kanitra, Cynthia Kavanaugh, Erin Keiffer, Bradley King, Jovanie Laguerre, John Lauro, Morgan Lorkowski, Nga Nguyen, Nicole Pampreen, Evan Piechota, Adam Prashad, Savannah Price, Paul Radwan, Jeffrey Rand, Sarah Schlagheck, Marcel Schmid, Zachary Schmidtke, Daniel Swanson, Mitchel Sykes, Jessyca Sylvain, Barry Turner, and Hayley Warda.

Highest honors were awarded to the following undergraduate students with the highest GPA in their major and who had completed a minimum of 30 credits at Madonna University, 15 of which were in the past three semesters and 25 were in their major: Ryan Lambrecht for accounting and Bryan Giczewski for Business Administration, Joane Bijou for Business Administration & Leadership, LaTosha Myers for Health Care Management, Courtney Kihn for Hospitality & Tourism Management, Melissa Sidor for Human Resource Management, Strahinja Ljubevic for International Business, Sumaia Elsibai for Management Information Systems, and Caitlin Marchione for Marketing.

Receiving the Michael F. McManus Jr. award for outstanding leadership and proficiency in academics were graduate students Cesar Figueras and Thomas Oliver and undergraduate students Caitlin Marchione, Stephanie Lijewski, and Paige Schmidt.

During the ceremony, the following students were inducted into the Epsilon Gamma Chapter of Delta Mu Delta the National Honor Society in Business Administration: Natalie Anne Blazo, Denise Collaku, Christina Harris, Whitney Janaulis, Bradley King, Holly Laginess, Zack Schmidtke, and Manal Shehada.

The final award of the night – Meta & Bernard Landuyt award – recognizes high achievement from a senior with a 3.7 GPA or above, who has completed a minimum of 30 credits at Madonna University and 25 within the School of Business. The recipient of the award exhibits scholarly inquiry, critical thinking, professional growth, leadership qualities, participation in university and/or community activities, and evidence of integrity, responsibility and strength of character. The Meta and Bernard Landuyt award is the most prestigious award in the School of Business, and the 2016 recipient is accounting major Amanda Arcy.

# # #